Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Stephen F. Austin University



The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition is an annual contest for college students established in 1938 in memory of its namesake. Cash prizes for the top five teams in recent years ranged from $25,000 to $5,000. Recent cash prizes for the top five individuals have been $2,500 each. Below the individual winners for each year are listed in alphabetical order. The Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize was established in 1992 to be "awarded periodically to a woman whose performance on the Competition has been deemed particularly meritorious". Recent winners of the Elizabeth Lowell Putnam prize have received $1,000. Over the years many of the winners of the Putnam competition have become distinguished mathematicians. A number of them have received the Fields Medal and several have won the Nobel Prize in Physics.

The Annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition will be on the first Saturday in December. This year the exam will be on Saturday, December 1, 2018. The exam is divided into two sessions. Participants take the first part of the exam in the morning (9:00 am - 12:00 pm) and the second part in the afternoon (2:00 pm - 5:00 pm).


Putnam Problem(s) of the Week

A new problem or problems will be posted each Friday. The solution will be posted on the following Friday.


Sphere line drawing for decoration


Last modified: September 22, 2018